Question about life after getting your Clinical Psychology PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

freudpsych45t

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm currently a psychology student and I am interested in pursuing a PhD in clinical psychology. I want to go for a Phd for the pursuit of knowledge, to help others and myself, for the professional job opportunities, and to be a college professor. I guess you can say I like research because I like to analyze, discuss, explain, and determine the origins of things. Right now I'm doing really cool research with a professor but its not so much my interest. I'm just doing the opportunities I'm given. I have a question regarding life after Clinical Psychology PhD After you attain the PhD in clinical psychology do you have to keep doing research for the rest of your life? Can you just treat and teach as a professor at a univeristy. In order to get licensed do you need to do a certain amount of research projects a year? Basically my question is would I have to keep doing research in order to maintain the PhD degree or after you finish your PhD studies you can do whatever you want with the degree.I would definately like to do some research but I'm more interested in treating and teaching. Any comments are greatly appreciated! :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!