Question about Medical School/Residency Lifestyle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jjmusicman29

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm sorry I couldn't really seem to get this answered in my thread about what my chances are.

What is lifestyle like in medical school? Is it really like 0-4 hours of sleep every night, no social life, etc? I'm a chemical engineer so I arguably am in one of the hardest undergraduate majors available, but I get 7 hours of sleep most nights with some good time management. I really can't handle getting 0-4 hours of sleep most nights, I would break/crack. I have tried, but really. I don't like pulling all nighters, I only did one last semester. I do everything within my power to avoid those situations by managing my time fiercely. My health isn't that great and if there's no reasonable way to finish medical school without living a healthy lifestyle with decent sleep, exercise, and food possible to time management then I seriously doubt I'd be able to do it. People make it sound like it's impossible to live a lifestyle that isn't just 19 hours studying/at the clinic all day. I don't know if I could do that lifestyle even if the science of medicine interests me so much. In that case I might want to do a graduate degree in biomedical engineering of sorts instead of going to medical school, since I could study the fascinating science of the body in a different way.

Thanks your help!

Members don't see this ad.

Manage your time well and medical school and residency wont hurt you. If you study with facebook open and text messaging you will have problems.

Sounds like your pledgeship was too easy.

Members don't see this ad :)