question about mph vs. science masters vs. postbacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dblue10

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
(i know there are threads similar to this out there, but i can't find them. sorry!)

hey all,
i've applied this cycle and haven't had any luck, so im making backup plans. i feel that a lot of what is holding me back is my gpa (3.3), so in my gap year i should probably do something that'll help my grades. i think an mph is something i want to do, but because of my gpa, im not sure if a non-bcpm-boosting program will help at all (so maybe i should look at hard science stuff). and since i majored in bio and took all my science prereqs, i think i can rule out some post-baccs. what do you all think?

thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I would advise an informal post-bacc, taking some science classes that you haven't taken yet, but that would demonstrate recent science ability--eg: biochemistry, physiology, microbiology, genetics, etc...

This will affect your undergrad science gpa (unlike the MPH or science masters) and will probably cost less than either of those options...

what if i have taken all of those? haha

obviously, there are advanced courses in those areas (ex. biochem 2, upper level genetics courses, virology, immunology, etc.). so i assume you mean these then?

Members don't see this ad :)
I would advise an informal post-bacc, taking some science classes that you haven't taken yet, but that would demonstrate recent science ability--eg: biochemistry, physiology, microbiology, genetics, etc...

This will affect your undergrad science gpa (unlike the MPH or science masters) and will probably cost less than either of those options...