Question about my schedule for next semester

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thisismyacct

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently signed up for 19 credits this upcoming semester. I'm a sophomore and my current GPA is somewhere from a 2.5-2.7 since final grades aren't in yet and I don't know how much the dual credit classes I took in high school raise my GPA.

The classes I would be taking next semester are:
  • Plant biology and lab: 4 credits
  • orgo and lab: 3 credit lecture, 2 credit lab
  • Intro to nonfiction writing: 3 credits (I heard its an easy class)
  • Intro to mass communitcations: 3 credits (I heard its an easy class)
  • Intro to museum studies: 3 credits (the name should speak for itself)
  • Science career seminar: 1 credit (guaranteed A)
My GPA might drop after this semester due to my poor performance in both of my science classes (microbiology and orgo lecture). I might get a C in orgo, no idea what I'll get in micro but it will definitely be below a B-. My grade in orgo would be higher if it weren't for a misunderstanding I had.

I have poor grades because I'm not good at studying consistently and I procrastinate. Lately I have also had trouble focusing and not getting off task when doing work. Sometimes I'm able to consistently study and stay focused and when I do, I usually do pretty well on tests. My idea is to take so many credits because I think it might force me to study since I don't have any other choice and because 10/19 of those credits would be from "fluff" classes.

Do you guys think this is a good or bad idea?

Members don't see this ad.

Overloading yourself will not push you to study.
Manage your time better, and study consistently. Take a 12-15 hours course-load of classes you can do well in.

2.7 is a very bad sign. You need to get your butt in gear.

Overloading yourself will not push you to study.