question about premed courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soon2beadoctor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys this is my first post in the forum. I am a rising freshman and will be starting school in the fall. i needed some help in choosing classes. i currently have signed up for gen chem 101, bio 114(principles of bio), english 101, and music 121(fine arts requirement). do you think i would be overloading my self with 2 science classes in my first term in college? im majoring chemistry and minoring biology. also what other classes would you guys recommend i take my first year?( mainly science related)

Members don't see this ad.

congrats on taking your first step in a very long journey!

2 science classes will hopefully not be too overloading, since you, as a premed and a double science major, will be taking MANY science classes over your college career- you'll probably have 2 science classes a semester on average. but of course, it varies from person to person, and your college's gen bio/chem classes might be ridiculous and be the weeder classes.

Those 4 classes are definitely more than enough for your first semester- you really shouldn't take more than 4 classes a semester.

But in terms of other classes for other terms, it varies from school to school, but I would say stick with chemistry and biology, and perhaps english for the entire year, and have your last class be a breadth or fun class.