Question about research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alibaig14

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I had a question about research in undergrad. I have no lab-based research experience or science research. I have been doing Mathematical research with my professor for the past year. Will that count, or look bad without a scientific lab-based research? (And its not even a research at top school though). and plus, I dont have summer research experience and I declined my professor for this summer because I will be taking the MCAT, and summer research is 40 hours a week, so i thought it would be best to use that time for MCAT. Will no summer research experience will look bad as well? I know its not required, but so many people are doing research these days.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
I had a question about research in undergrad. I have no lab-based research experience or science research. I have been doing Mathematical research with my professor for the past year. Will that count, or look bad without a scientific lab-based research? (And its not even a research at top school though). and plus, I dont have summer research experience and I declined my professor for this summer because I will be taking the MCAT, and summer research is 40 hours a week, so i thought it would be best to use that time for MCAT. Will no summer research experience will look bad as well? I know its not required, but so many people are doing research these days.

No summer research experience won't look bad as long as you do something else productive during the summer. MCAT prep is a job in and of itself, but you need to build a study schedule that allows you to do other stuff as well. Try to get some good volunteering or shadowing experience at a hospital or clinic. Try to fill the summer with stuff you find enjoyable but also could be listed on an application or CV.