Question about social psychology Ph.D

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Maigret Man

Nontrad premed
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings,

I am a pre-med student but a good buddy of mine is looking to get a Ph.D in social psychology. He does not want to do clinical psychology but focus on research. He is looking to chat with someone who has applied to social psychology Ph.D programs recently. How does he make himself more competitive?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm going for clinical so take what I say with a grain of salt.

The social PhD folks I know seem to focus on research, research and more research. Pubs/presentations whenever possible.

You didn't mention his area of interest, but certain areas of social psych lend themselves very well to extracurricular/volunteer activities. If he is interested in prejudice/etc. clubs examining minority issues could be a great experience, as would volunteer work in say, some inner city schools. Personal statement gold IMO. These are not precisely clinical activities per se, more like "community involvement". From what I have heard, social programs tend to give more weight to things like that than most other areas.

Ollie,

Thanks for the info! My friend has worked for several years in various research jobs. His specific research interest is the decision process on whether or not to have children. He is all about research. He has a master's in psych, several poster presentations and a couple journal articles.

Do you know if social psych programs put a lot of emphasis on pubs and research experience? Do you think being an older candidate will hurt him?

Members don't see this ad :)
Happy to help:)