Question about state residency!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wuhladubdub

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize if this question has been asked to death, but I personally couldn't find a thread that answered exactly what I was looking for.

If I recently graduated from a Cali undergraduate school, but everything else ties me back to my home state, am I still considered a resident of my home state?

Some facts about me:
- My family has always lived in my home state.
- I am still a dependent (registered underneath my parents)
- I paid out of state tuition all four years
- I have a driver's license in my home state
- My permanent address is in my home state**
- I've never voted in Cali
- I've never paid taxes in Cali
- I've never had a job in Cali (was not employed while a student).

But I have lived in California every year I have been a student, address and all.

Thank you! I just want to make absolute sure. I tried looking online at requirements, but it's pretty complicated legal stuff that I couldn't quite sift through to get a satisfactory answer.

**If permanent address is what I think it is

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yeah you are a resident of your home state. Your situation is similar to CA applicants who went to undergrad out of state. Because your permanent resident address is in your home state and you were considered OOS for your undergrad, your residency is your home state and not CA.

@gyngyn could you kindly verify/clarify this?

I believe you are still considered a resident of the other state. That's how it was for me when I attended school (and even voted) out of state.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I believe you are still considered a resident of the other state. That's how it was for me when I attended school (and even voted) out of state.