Dr.Okonkwo

10+ Year Member
Mar 10, 2005
Status
Hello you guys, I am a freshman in high school that is interested in Medicine, I am a Nigerian-American Male, but I wanted to ask if it would hurt me if I went to my state school for pre-med, In my case the University of Georgia and did well high gpa and such then applied to the top medical programs. I am looking at this route because it would save money and my older sister is also interested in Medicine and I don't want to have my parents to be under to much of a financial burden. Any answers would be appreciated.

Thank You

tesla123

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2005
Status
Dr.Okonkwo said:
Hello you guys, I am a freshman in high school that is interested in Medicine, I am a Nigerian-American Male, but I wanted to ask if it would hurt me if I went to my state school for pre-med, In my case the University of Georgia and did well high gpa and such then applied to the top medical programs. I am looking at this route because it would save money and my older sister is also interested in Medicine and I don't want to have my parents to be under to much of a financial burden. Any answers would be appreciated.

Thank You
There are 2 people from the University of Georgia in Yale's first year class. Good luck!

R

Revolution #9

You'll be absolutely fine with UG. Fine institution, actually. It might not give you the Ivy-league advantage that some people beleive in, but really, so what? Do well, and you can get in anywhere.

Shredder

User
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2004
Status
Medical Student
look into financial aid for disadvantaged applicants, you shouldnt have to compromise on your education if you are qualified but lack financial backing. theres a reason ivy league schools are designated as such, and you get what you pay for. 1400 SAT and top 10% rank will get you anywhere in the country with money showering on you, no kidding.

Ambs

Sleeping is underrated!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Oct 16, 2004