Question for Child and/or Pediatric Psychologists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pediatric_psydoc

Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychologist
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be starting my internship in the summer in an inpatient psychiatric hospital, and two thirds of the year will be devoted to clinical work with children and adolescents. I plan on applying to a formal postdoc, as one of my goals is to be board certified in child psychology in the future. The postdocs I will apply to are going to include both child psychiatric hospitals and child medical hospitals (I have some practicum experience in a pediatric psychology setting). I am interested in both assessment and intervention for neurodevelopmental disorders, and behavioral interventions for medical illness, and over the year I want to get a better idea of whether I'd like to enter a child clinical or a pediatric setting for postdoc.

My question for psychologists working with children is: what do you enjoy most about the specific populations of children you work with? What made you choose child clinical over pediatric, or vice versa? Any input you can give is much appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.