Question for the ladies: pumping during an ER shift

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DeadInside

doc in a shop
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Going back to work after having my first child during residency. Any of the ladies ever pump during an ER shift, especially while a resident? Did you find it at all, in any way, doable to pump for even 5-10 min in a bathroom somewhere? Other residents have assured me that its hard, but totally doable, but they were in IM, ob, even surgery, in other words no shift work (i.e. even in surgery most cases do not take longer than 5hrs).

Will my attendings even be understanding?

Any advice would be appreciated if you have had experience with this.

Members don't see this ad.

Try mommd.com , the posters often have good tips. Congrats on your baby!

I'm not a resident/attending but I was a tech in the ED. I'm also mother. I'm sure you can find the time if you HAVE to. But think of the days where it's so busy that you don't even have time to pee. I didn't breastfeed when I was working but I can't imagine, on those busy days, being able to find the time. As for them being understanding, I wouldn't say that they would come out and say no. But I could see the frustration when all the rooms are full and there's 15+ waiting and you have to take 15 minutes to pump. Because it'll take at least 5 minutes to get the pump out and get ready, then 5-10 minutes to pump. Also, when you're rushing and stressed out because you are busy, it may take even longer.

Members don't see this ad :)