Question from a student aspiring to become a pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ksksks

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am a undergraduate student who will be applying to pharmacy programs this coming year. I am trying to think of various scenarios where it becomes difficult for pharmacists to decide upon what to do (conflict situation) to further understand the problems with:

1) Fake prescriptions (From what I have experienced, most pharmacists just inform the police)
2) Communication problems with the Doctors (For example, when I volunteered and shadowed under a pharmacist, I could never recognize their writing. I know this is a crude example, but I am sure there are other types of problems)

3) Personal liabilities in consequence of mistake in giving out wrong dosages, etc

4) Pressure situations (For example, a rush of many individuals wanting their prescription to be filled quickly)

5) Other difficulties with the occupation that I failed to identify

If I COULD get an insight upon various problems and challenges of being a pharmacist, it would be greatly appreciated. I would like to thank you in advance for the thorough answer. :)

Members don't see this ad.

How about:
1. apply to a pharmacy school-pharmacy program
2. get accepted
3. survive the program/be able to maintain min required GPA
4. apply for internship
5. graduate
6. pass the board
7. get licensed
8. apply for a pharmacist position
9. get hired

Then worry about the problems you posted.

I've found it useful as a pre-pharm (and accepted! yay!) student to read various pharmacy blogs to get a sense of problems/issues pharmacists face. The Angry Pharmacist, The Angriest Pharmacist, The Drug Monkey, and The Pharmacy Chick are the main ones I read.

Probably too many, but it's good procrastination from writing my thesis for grad school. ;-)

Members don't see this ad :)
How about: