Question list for a new US applicant to the UK

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bucknasty

Bucknasty
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
If you have answers to any of these questions, or some constructive tips, I would greatly appreciate it. I am a non-traditional student with pretty good US stats and looking to go to a UK med school in 2007.

Please don't start with the negativity about the UK system for a US citizen. I've heard it before, and I appreciate it, but right now I just want to concentrate on getting in first.

1. I'm not too sure how to go about selecting my 4 schools to apply to. Any thoughts on strengths of schools, or some kind of ranking or tiering of them?

2. It looks like I will apply to 4-yr or 5-yr programs. Any comments on one vs. the other will be appreciated.

3. I will probably have to take the UKCAT within the next couple of weeks. Any tips or suggestions for this? Any tips for the other entrance exams? Do any schools accept the US MCAT as a substitute?

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

If you have answers to any of these questions, or some constructive tips, I would greatly appreciate it. I am a non-traditional student with pretty good US stats and looking to go to a UK med school in 2007.

Please don't start with the negativity about the UK system for a US citizen. I've heard it before, and I appreciate it, but right now I just want to concentrate on getting in first.

1. I'm not too sure how to go about selecting my 4 schools to apply to. Any thoughts on strengths of schools, or some kind of ranking or tiering of them?

2. It looks like I will apply to 4-yr or 5-yr programs. Any comments on one vs. the other will be appreciated.