Question on a paper I am working on...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor_Strange

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am studying exercise effects on working memory using a meta analysis. Is it allowed to group different working memory tests together for a single study? As in, I have Study 1 that measures WM using 2 different tests, but I want to conduct a meta regression on it and if I am allowed to combine the 2 different tests that are measuring working memory, I can than do my regression...

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,

I am studying exercise effects on working memory using a meta analysis. Is it allowed to group different working memory tests together for a single study? As in, I have Study 1 that measures WM using 2 different tests, but I want to conduct a meta regression on it and if I am allowed to combine the 2 different tests that are measuring working memory, I can than do my regression...

Short answer, depends.

Are test scores raw scores? Standardized Scores? Are the population samples similar in demographics? And so on and so forth. Hard to know the answer to the question without knowing the characteristics of both the test and the samples.

Reactions: 1 user
Sorry, let me add the following details:
  • I am doing a systematic review with a meta analysis so by a function of my strict search strategy and inclusion/exclusion criteria the population samples are quite similar (the only real difference is age which is in fact what I want to regress to the impact of age).
  • The test scores are all post-test.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am using a program called Comprehensive Meta Analysis and it does essentially all of the calculations. The final meta regression will be in units of standard difference in means.

edit: this is where I have added the graphs for input from others https://forums.studentdoctor.net/th...w-regarding-cognition-working-memory.1231131/