Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Question regarding the one year gap

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by fn7909, Nov 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fn7909

fn7909 Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

I have a question that I would like to ask but at first I need to inform you about my academic status;

My major is chemistry and I will receive my BA in June of 2006. I am planning to go to medical school after I receive my undergraduate degree. I will take the MCAT in April of 2006 and I will send out my primary application in June of 2006. I am applying to medical schools for Fall of 2007. There is one year gap from the time I get my BA in chemistry, till I get admitted to the medical school.

Here is my question. What would you recommend me to do during this one year gap? because I was thinking about the master degree in public health, does anyone know if this is a good path?
    Your advise will be appreciated

2. fenixwbp

fenixwbp Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    You've got another four years of school after this, I think more than anything else you should take a break and do something you want to do.

I'm graduating this spring a year a head of time, and with my extra money I'm going on an 8 month backpacking trip from Madrid, Spain to Bangkok, Thailand. Maybe that's not up your ally, but I'm viewing it like this: This is probably the only time in my life I have no anchors. I don't have a family, a mortgage, and career. This will be the only time I can do something like this. Is there anything you have always wanted to do?