Jonathan13180

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 30, 2004
Visit site
Status
Im considering osteopathic schools though i have very little knowledge of them. Is there a particular field most DO's go into? Are there fields where DO's rarely go into? (ie surgery)?? I know these might be hard questions to answer, i was just wondering thats all. I do know that there is a stigma (unfortunately) associated with DO's....to be honest i know a lot of DO students who make MD students look like peasants, so im not here to offend anyone. And what is OMM? I understand it has to do with a holistic approach, but then again, i hear that some schools dont even use it. Thanks for any help.

donvicious

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 30, 2004
Visit site
Status
Most DO's go into primary care but there are plenty that do surgery. My feeling is that since most DO students are older, they don't want to take the time to specialize.

donvicious

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 30, 2004
Visit site
Status
OMM is training on manipulating the bones and muscles of the body to alleviate a variety of symptoms, mostly somatic pain.

You can think of it as another class or it can define you as a physician.

It may or may not be incorporated into your practice. That's up to you. You will be tested on it when you take the boards (just COMLEX step 2 I think).

OSUdoc08

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2003
Status
Medical Student
Jonathan13180 said: