Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crawgator

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been accepted to PA school and have been also offered a spot to attend nursing school. My question is this: I know the diff regarding medical model vs. nursing model and all other diff, but it seems to me that it is much easier to locate a job after graduation with most RN's, even ADNs, exceeding the typical salary of a PA. I have had the opportunity to work with both in the military, but would the nursing route offer more expansion within the filed? I have been accepted to a primary care PA school, and have an interest in surgery, but after careful consideration, declined the SPA program that I had been accepted to. Any suggestions? I know that I can work in surgery even though I graduated from a primary care school, can't I? Any suggestions/comments would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

while there are certainly more rn jobs than pa jobs out there the avg pa makes more than the avg rn by at least 10-15k/yr to start. agency rn's can make 50/hr, but locums pa's can make 75/hr. it really comes down to if you want to be a clinician or spend your life following others orders

Emedpa,

Thanks for your response. You certainly did clear up any indecision that I have now. I have a couple of other questions to ask you if you don't mind:
1. Was accepted to both a SPA/Primary care school; turned down the SPA school b/c of alot response from practicing PAs that explained that I would recieve a much more well-rounded education-do you agree?