Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

questioning my undergrad major...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by lina123321, Apr 17, 2007.

1. lina123321

lina123321 ralph: im a unitard
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    i wish i majored in business as an undergrad b/c now, as a biology major graduating this may, i have realized that this may be a viable career interest. don't get me wrong, i've always wanted to be an MD, but since middle school, i've been on the science track. i went thru highschool and college w/the premed focus and mindset...

But now, w/no acceptance to a med school ( a few Wl's, but nothing to hold my breath for), and the prospect of having to find a job w/a BA in Bio (i'm not interested in pursuing a PhD), im bummed out. i really wanna go to med school, so im gonna have to apply for 2009 (mcat retake later in 2007), so that's 2 yrs out of school...im thinking: "what if?"...what if i majored in business...i'd have at least a prospective career path that i could live well on (>60K)..what am i gonna do w/a bio major?...(lab tech..approx 30K..livable, but really, is this what 4yrs of undergrad is worth?)

idk...:confused: :confused:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. kronickm

kronickm even par.
    2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    <------------ Philosophy Major.

4. bbabul01

5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Go to grad school. Having a bachelor nowadays is equivalent to having a high school degree when our parents were our age. You prob wouldn't make $60k with a bachelors in business anyway, so don't worry about it. Work for a few years, figure out what you really like, take some more classes, figure out more of what you like, then go to grad school. Good luck.

5. RowaH