SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Questions about changing state residency to improve admission chances.

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by UnderGrad, Jan 30, 2000.

1. UnderGrad

UnderGrad Senior Member 10+ Year Member

Hi, I was reading another post about residency issues.

I am a junior undergraduate who is considering trying to get into medical school. I don't really know whether or not I want to go allopathic or osteopathic -- although I will probably apply to both -- but I have more "connections" so to speak with DOs.

My question is about OSUCOM. I grew up in Oklahoma, graduated from an OK high school, but changed my residency to KS during my community college days for two years (cheaper tuition). The CC I attended is only 5 miles or so from the OK border. Right now I am still a KS resident (again a town 5 miles or so from the KS/OK state line). I graduated from the CC and am now commuting to Oklahoma Panhandle State University about an hour away from where I live. My advisor suggested that I change my residency back to OK with my parents address so I can apply to OSUCOM with OK residency (even though I am still technically living in KS). Needless to say, this will be somewhat of a hassle to have all my mail going to my parents' house, etc. although not impossibe because they don't live very far from where I do; however, I thought if this were a good idea, it might be worth it.

Would I have as good of chance of getting into OSUCOM with my KS residency since I live in the "Oklahoma region," or should I go ahead and change everything over to OK? My advisor didn't think I would have a problem with getting my OK residency back since I graduated from an OK high school and will get my B.S. from an OK school as well.

What are your thoughts on the situation?