Questions about Medical School in Italy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aleksandrammm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I want to apply to medical school in Italy by next year. I have will have completed my Freshman year of college in June, and I am studying abroad in Roma for one year. Could someone please help to answer my questions below? Thanks:)

1. I was wondering if anyone knows of medical schools in Rome or Naples?
2. What is the admission process for an American student applying to any medical school in Italy (or more specifically one in Rome/Naples)?
3. What are the deadlines for applying to med school (rolling admission, regular admission, etc)
4. Are there any English-speaking/American medical schools; courses taught in English? (The consensus from the forums appears to be no)

Thank you so much!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi I'm a foreign student in English medical program in Italy.
To apply you will need to contact an Italian embacy. Moreover you will need to ask for a student visa if you don't happen to have an European citizenship. Then in semptember you will have to sit the admissions exam in the city of destination. The exam is in Italian, unless you are subscribed to one of the few English taught programs (Milan, Pavia, Rome) and then your test and studies are in English.
The deadline can slightly vary between the countries, I know that in Israel one needs to apply before the end of this month, but in any Italian embassy / counsulate they should be able to provide some more specific info
If you have more questions feel free to ask here. There is also plenty of info in the student website in my signature. Good luck!

Alex,

How do I go about applying to English language medical schools in Italy?

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
What is residency matching like after studying abroad at a medical school?