Questions from Non-Traditional Pre-Dental

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Predocmom

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
As non-traditional pre-dental candidate, I have a few questions:

1)Pre-Reqs - I have an undergrad biz degree with overall 3.2gpa (science subjects 3.6gpa), an MS in MIS with 3.9gpa (company-paid). Now, I plan to take some pre-reqs in a local college. In addition to the basic Chem1&2, Physics1&2, Bio1&2 and OrChem1&2, do I need to take anything else, like advance bio or Orchem to 'impress' the dental schools?

2) Shadowing - How much shadowing do I need? Does it matter whether it is in a clinic or hospital? As I am pretty determined to go for dental school rather than medical school, could I shadow dentists only, rather than all sorts of doctors?

3)Volunteer - I live right across from a hospital, where I plan to fulfill my volunteer hours, but they have no dental department. Would it matter where I volunteer or what I do? Would dental school prefer to see me doing dental-related volunteer work? I volunteered long time ago at a local ER, but I did not get proof...

4)DAT - When should I start preparing for DAT? How many months in general do people need to prepare for DAT?

5) I know that my best bet is to put up the best gpa and DAT score possible. Any advise from other non-traditional pre-dental/dental students/dentists?

Most info I read for non-traditional applicants are from the medical school threads. Don't know whether it applies to dental schools as well. Do dental schools see us, older applicants, favorably/unfavorably, if we put up equally good grades, scores and interviews?

Appreciate any input!

Members don't see this ad.

I like yourself graduated my first time with a degree in business. Coming back to school was a difficult decision but i think youll find it very rewarding ... as I have.