NotAProgDirector

Pastafarians Unite!
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Oct 11, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I am an American medical school graduate from a top medical school, didn't graduate AOA but close to it. I have research experience and publications, very good board scores, lots of awards. The specialty I chose is my passion (non-surgical), and I was recruited highly for residency. Intern year was fine, however during my PGY 2 year I started developing clinical depression and burnout. Many devastating personal events happened all at the same time. Of importance, my performance was highly regarded during residency, I had an excellent reputation, and patient care was never a concern until the PD was told by a fellow resident I was depressed and possibly suicidal. I never took a sick day. No substance abuse involved. I got along fine with everybody, even the tough attendings. I was just a few weeks away from my PGY 3 year. After he was told, I was immediately hospitalized and have been treated over the last four years for "MDD, severe, recurrent." My contract was cancelled for "business reasons" several months after my treatment began and I did not return to work. I was told that my spot in the program was secure prior to my termination (I have this in writing), but nobody thought it would be this long. I really crashed after I was terminated and I made a serious suicide attempt. My insurance would not pay for the cost of my entire treatment which forced me into bankruptcy. I have no family support. One bad event cascaded to another, but I have a really strong will. I am better now, and in remission, but in a worse situation than when this all began. Over the last few months, I have taken steps to reclaim my life and career. I approached the department with a well-researched, well-devised proposal to return; the door was not closed, but I was told all the spots were filled for the upcoming year, which I have reason to believe was not true. The n