Quoted: Medical School and ADD

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posted for a member

Hello, I hope this question is nuanced enough to gain a response:

I am an older student, married with kids. I did well as an undergraduate (3.93 cum), but took a long time to finish and was a non-science major. After taking science classes, I only achieved a 3.1 BCMP, which I think is mostly due to not knowing how to study properly for "big picture" science courses. I would study for hours and hours and only reached a B level in most classes with one swing (Physics) to a C and a couple swings upward to A's. I was always the last to finish tests or simply timed out.

I am the type of student who can read a page and have to read it many times before the information actually sinks in. This isn't just with science, it is with other things, too (i.e. leisure reading, especially fiction). I was diagnosed with ADD as a child and have shifted into some OCD type habits (i.e. excessive cleaning habits). My point is that I think this is all connected, and sometimes I just get stuck and can't pull myself out.