Quoted: Vet school - leave of absence for mental health issues?

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Posted for a member

I am a first year student at a US veterinary school. I am a non-trad student- older, married with a child. I have spent the last 10 years of my life overcommitted and hyperfocused on getting to this point.

I am a survivor of childhood abuse. Approximately 12 years ago I experienced an involuntary commitment to a mental health facility and was diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. Until recently I always considered that to be a misdiagnosis, and attributed the behaviors and thought patterns that got me committed to be normal reactions to the abuse I experienced. I became much better after I was released and removed myself from the abusive environment. I thought I was mentally healthy. In my vet school application I did reference my dysfunctional childhood as an obstacle I overcame, but did not discuss being committed.

Upon starting school last fall I nearly immediately fell into a deep depression. Within a few weeks I spoke to the vet school psychologist about it, and he referred me to an MD. I started taking an SSRI; it was the first time I'd ever felt bad enough to medicate myself since being committed. I'd always felt the medications I had been forced to take made me worse, not better.