Radiology Fellowship for IMG: Help wanted!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tef

tef
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, first some details of my situation:
I'm a radiology resident from the Netherlands. I'm in my last year now (5th) and looking for a fellowship position in the states in neuroradiology.
I passed step 1 and 2 CK of the usmle's with average scores. I'm doing my step2 CS this coming december after which I'll be ECFMG certified.
I'm looking to start somewhere in 2009 or beginning of 2010.
Is it hard to find a good fellowship position as an IMG with average scores? For some programs you need to be board certified. Is it true that I could be eligible for the boards after doing a two year fellowship and then working for two years as a staff radiologist at the same hospital?? Do I need to do an internship for a fellowship? Are there also fellowship programs outside of the NRMP match system??
I can use any advice I can so I hope some of you will take some time to reply to my questions,
Thanks in advance!!

Members don't see this ad.

Is it hard to find a good fellowship position as an IMG with average scores?

For rads fellowship, your scores don't really matter that much (except of course that you have to pass). More important would be support from your current department chairman, chief of neuroradiology or the like.

For some programs you need to be board certified.

Or the equivalent in your home country.

Is it true that I could be eligible for the boards after doing a two year fellowship and then working for two years as a staff radiologist at the same hospital??

Yes.

Do I need to do an internship for a fellowship?

Not for the fellowship per se.