Range of USMLEs scores required for surgery?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shreypete

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there everybody,

I'm currently a medical student in Europe (Charles University, Prague) and I want to practice in the US. I specifically want to do a residency in General Surgery (although I'm a beginner and my preferences may change over the years, I'm still very much interested). How competitive is the General Surgery program for IMGs (international medical graduates)?

Also what are the range of scores required for getting into the general surgery residency program. I eventually want to narrow down my interest to a specific field (such as neuro or cardiothoracic surgery) through a fellowship program but all of that happens only after the completion of a general sugery program.

Members don't see this ad.

VERY competitive. Aim for a Step 1 in the 90s - ideally over 95.

I eventually want to narrow down my interest to a specific field (such as neuro or cardiothoracic surgery) through a fellowship program but all of that happens only after the completion of a general sugery program.
Actually, it does not happen that way. In the US, neurosurgery has its own match with no separate general surgery match.

Members don't see this ad :)
And I also heard that one needs to do clinical electives, observerships, and research (publication oriented) to bank a spot in any of the surgical sub-specialties?