1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Rank the Illinois schools

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by dimebag darrell, Nov 28, 2005.

1. dimebag darrell

5+ Year Member

Hi Everyone,

While perhaps Northwestern and U of C are the top schools in Illinois (though that's open to debate of course), where do you think the rest of the schools fall? I am genuinely curious, since I am currently an Illinois resident who knows very little about the other schools in Illinois. Share your proposed ranking of all the Illinois schools, based on whatever factors you deem important (with reasons explained, of course)!

Cheers

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. MercyKillerDoc

MercyKillerDoc Membership Revoked
    Removed

nu
    uc
    rush
    uic
    loy
    ros

I ranked loyola low because of its catholic affiliation. Rosalind is the lowest due to its probationary status. UIC and rush are about tied. NU wins because of its curriculum, location.

4. RonBurgundy

RonBurgundy Member
    5+ Year Member

5. thinknofu3

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    well, if you go in terms of outside "rankings" (US News), its:

1) U of C
    2) NU
    3) UIC

then Rush, Loyola and RFUMS aren't ranked

If you want my subjective opinion (but i'm also skewed in terms of interviews, etc) I'd say

U of C
    NU
    UIC
    Rush (this and Loyola are interchangeable in my opinion)
    Loyola
    RFUMS

that's just my opinion, take it how you will :)

6. godawgs39

godawgs39 Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    you guys are forgetting that other illinois school, SIU...

it's not ranked at all in this year's us news, but either last year or the year before SIU was somewhere in the 40s for primary care

7. jbrice1639

jbrice1639 Cub Fan, Bud Man
    5+ Year Member