Ranking D.O. Schools - Should Your School Be #1?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - DO' started by Rusty, Feb 9, 2001.

1. Rusty

Rusty Member

In my experience, asking osteopathic medical students to provide a ranking of D.O. schools usually is met with fierce loyalty and sometimes anger toward those who would even ask such a question. Never let it be said that I avoided a healthy controversy. I am a 4th year student at MSUCOM and below you will find my ranking of the top 10 D.O. schools and my justification why my school earns the #1 spot (Yes, I am biased but at least you know where I stand).
    1. MSU-COM
    2. KCOM
    3. CCOM
    4. NSU-COM
    4. PCOM
    6. UHS-COM
    7. NYCOM
    8. WUHS-COMP
    9. UNECOM
    10. OSU-COM

MSUCOM has been one of the top D.O. schools in the country for several years. Now, MSUCOM has taken a bold step forward as the #1 osteopathic medical school. Ranked by U.S. New and World Report as a top primary care medical school since D.O. school were added to the rankings, MSUCOM now shares the #9 spot with John Hopkins and UCSF. MSUCOM boasts excellent basic science faculty supported by a Big Ten university, hospital affiliations which are tops among D.O. schools, a great reputation among the residency program directors with whom I interviewed (top 20 allopathic neurology programs), good (not great) facilities, and a warm and friendly atmosphere among students, faculty and administration which provides an excellent learning environment. The school has its drawbacks including a below average library, a curriculum which may over-emphasize primary care, and cold winter weather. In conclusion, MSUCOM is the #1 D.O. school.

What is your ranking? Why does your #1 school deserve its ranking?

Please don't trash on anyone else's ranking - although constructive comments are encouraged.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. cjkalmat

cjkalmat Member