MD & DO Re-applicant, Non-Canadian International, Average GPA, Unbalanced MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Camou_Cat

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi friends,

I just got my MCAT yesterday with an unbalanced 511 (130/124/128/129). It was a retake from 509 (131/122/129/127). English is my third language. I have never been good at (interested in) reading. I don’t know if I should apply with this score, or retake the MCAT, or give up on med school and pursue a PhD or do something else. I applied with the above 509 in summer 2015 to about 20 schools (not very seriously) and didn’t get interview invites from any U.S. medical schools. I got an interview from Duke-NUS and never heard back. I didn’t like that program either.

I am an NON-CANADIAN INTERNATIONAL, NO GREEN CARD. I came to the U.S. 4.5 years ago for college. (I do want to stay in the U.S. for the rest of my life.) I graduated last June from a top 25 university in CA, with a double major in biological science and economics. My undergrad GPA is not impressive, 3.75 cGPA and 3.83 sGPA. But I had an upward trend since I became more determined about med school in my junior year.

Volunteer/Community Service
1. Hospital volunteer for 2.5 years (switched department after 1 year) ~300 hours *ongoing* probable LOR
2. Volunteer at a free clinic for 6 months ~60 hours *ongoing*

Other Clinical Experience
1. Clinical research associate in ICU for 2 years ~150 hours *ongoing* strong LOR
2. Shadowing (Ophthalmology + surgery, ER, Neurology, hospital rounds) ~100 hours
3. Currently working part-time in Peds Neurology as a clinical research coordinator (clinic/office = 50/50) *ongoing* strong LOR

Research: (Oh, I love research too)
1. I started early with a biochem lab but didn’t like protein work. ( ~250 hours for 8 months)