Re-apply to Dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mn001

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I want to know what I can do to be a competitive candidate for the 2012 application year.

I graduated in 2007 and applied in 2009. I got some secondary applications, but no interviews. I did apply late (august) and took DATs late too (october 2009). After getting married, working, and taking care of family obligations, I decided to apply again this year. In 2010 I took anatomy to keep up with the science class. My DAT AA was 17 (the scores were mostly 17 and 18, one 20 in RC). Overall GPA was 3.1. I have hundreds of hours in shadowing, volunteering, and researching (combined) in dentistry. 5 letters of rec (1 current dentist, 1 current science).

What should I do to be a competitive candidate (besides applying early)? As in should I retake the DATs, even though it is valid for this year?

Please help!

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! I want to know what I can do to be a competitive candidate for the 2012 application year.

I graduated in 2007 and applied in 2009. I got some secondary applications, but no interviews. I did apply late (august) and took DATs late too (october 2009). After getting married, working, and taking care of family obligations, I decided to apply again this year. In 2010 I took anatomy to keep up with the science class. My DAT AA was 17 (the scores were mostly 17 and 18, one 20 in RC). Overall GPA was 3.1. I have hundreds of hours in shadowing, volunteering, and researching (combined) in dentistry. 5 letters of rec (1 current dentist, 1 current science).

What should I do to be a competitive candidate (besides applying early)? As in should I retake the DATs, even though it is valid for this year?

Please help!

Thank you!!