Aug 6, 2011
Status
From what i've gathered. I thought all i had to take was:
1 yr chem
1 yr bio
1 yr org chem
Calc and physics i did aswell.

Now i see some schools need physiology, some schools need biochem, etc etc, just this and that. I'm just so confused, because im an engineer major, and it takes 5 years to become a engineer, and because i wanted to go to dental school it added another year because of the bio class i had to fit in, so 6 years. and now there are all these other classes schools want....

I honestly thought it was just chem, bio, org. Now all these other classes. Can anyone help me on what i do im just so lost.

jeffity

7+ Year Member
Oct 23, 2009
Status
Dentist
1 yr chem
1 yr bio
1 yr org chem

Now i see some schools need physiology, some schools need biochem, etc etc, just this and that. I'm just so confused, because im an engineer major, and it takes 5 years to become a engineer, and because i wanted to go to dental school it added another year because of the bio class i had to fit in, so 6 years. and now there are all these other classes schools want....

I honestly thought it was just chem, bio, org. Now all these other classes. Can anyone help me on what i do im just so lost.
Not all. In fact, not that many want the additional pre-reqs. Best thing to do is check the school's websites for pre-reqs. The ADEA Guidebook is good for that too, but to be certain it's accurate, just check the websites.

You are correct, the core 4 for almost every school out there (I can only think of 1 that doesn't follow this off the top of my head):
1 yr chem
1 yr bio
1 yr org chem
1 yr physics
(1 year English? I don't know how many want the year, but this is usually something you just have when you do a degree anyway.)