REALLY NEED ADVICE!!!! sGPA 3.03, cGPA 3.36, MCAT 27T

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BigDreams113

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I really need advice on what steps to take after graduating in June; here are my stats:

I would really like to go to DO school; here are my stats/ECs:
cGPA: 3.36 (still have one quarter left)
sGPA: 3.0 (it's low, I know)
MCAT 27T; planning on re-taking in the summer
I am majoring in physiological science with a minor in classics
I have over 300+ hours of volunteering in the hospital.
I have been in research for 2 years, no publications.
President of one club, Philanthropy Co-Director for another.
Internship teaching underprivileged middle school kids.
Shadowing experience (DO shadow in summer after graduation)

I will be taking one year off, and will be retaking the MCAT in that time. I looking at WUCOM and LECOM, but I'm pretty sure they are out of reach. What I need advice on is:
1) Do I need to re-take classes to get into a school? Financially, I'd like to avoid this.
2) Would an MCAT score above 30 help balance that sGPA?
3) When should I look to apply? I need to give myself time to re-take MCAT.
4) What would you do if you were me?

Thank you so much! ANY advice would be SO GREATLY APPRECIATED !

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

WCU and LECOM are within reach. Getting over a 30 may only mitigate the sGPA so much. Personally, I'd retake courses at a community college rather than retake the MCAT.

WCU and LECOM are within reach. Getting over a 30 may only mitigate the sGPA so much. Personally, I'd retake courses at a community college rather than retake the MCAT.

+1.....
If you are the typical college student who graduates with 120-130 credits, retaking 3-4 sciences classes that you had bad grades on might put your sGPA at 3.2+. With 27 mcat, you will have multiple interviews and your chances will be much better. You should not retake that mcat....