Reapplicant - cGPA 3.5 sGPA 3.3 31 MCAT Also RED flags.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GatsbyK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys retook my MCAT last cycle and scored a 31 (12PS, 8VR, 11BS). I scored a 29 the first time (11 PS, 6 VR, 12 BS). After scoring a 31 I was thinking about applying for 2015 but I caved in to stupid pressure from friends and family to applying late in the 2014 cycle (september / october). I knew fair well that I was probably not going to make it that late into the cycle with my scores but with constantly nagging from my gf, family, and friends I eventually applied ><.

I graduated with a cGPA of 3.5, sGPA is around 3.3. I majored in Health Sciences with a concentration in Emergency and Critical Care where I am also EMT-B certified until Jan 2015.

EC:
I was a Orgo TA for my junior year averaging 10-16 HRS per week to help students for the entire school year.

I was in my schools Handball club for 4 years. Freshman and sophomore year I was an active participant, Junior year I became secretary of the E-Board and senior year I was elected Vice-President. I learned to manage the club, funds associated with the club. We ran lots of practices for our annual collegiate competition in various states such as Arizona, Florida, etc. The team won national recognition and brought back medals and awards to various places (1st place womens, 2nd place mens singles, 1st place mens, etc) Our club also ran a school wide handball tournament at the end of each semester.
Clinical Experience:
I volunteered at my schools hospital in a general nursing floor. I probably have around 100 hours. My school does not allow us to do anything TO patients but we are allowed to help nurses, etc. I generally ran to stock, get items, and deliver anything the patients needed/wanted.