Reapplicant, old MCAT scores, worth taking the new MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

atalantamedicus

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am trying to decide whether or not to take the new MCAT in 3 weeks or so, and would appreciate any thoughts on my situation!

I have a 30 on the old MCAT (up from a 26 on my first try), and a 3.5 GPA. I applied to 14 schools in the 2015 cycle (I graduated from college in 2014) and interviewed at UMass Med, Dartmouth, and McGill; I was waitlisted at Dartmouth and McGill, but was let off those waitlists during the summer. I am applying again this upcoming June, so I will be a reapplicant at those 14 schools but a new applicant at some others that I will also be adding.

I took a Kaplan live-online prep course that finished in March, and am signed up to take the new MCAT in a few weeks. The highest score I have received on my full-length Kaplan practice tests so far (I have taken 7) is a 501, and I have been hovering at 498-500 for the last three tests or so. I have never taken psychology or sociology.

I worked as a patient services coordinator in an orthopedic trauma clinic for about a year and a half, and am now a clinical researcher in the same department, with the same surgeons.

My question is, is it worth it to take the new MCAT and possibly get lower than the 79th percentile score which I already have? I have heard that Kaplan tends to have very hard practice tests, so I'm not sure how indicative my scores are of my actual test score, but I'm also not sure I should take that gamble. I am definitely applying this cycle, since this is the last time I can use my 30.

Thank you for any thoughts!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Okay, thank you both for your thoughts! I appreciate it

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile