1. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice

Reapply or give up and move on?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by cgusta_1, Mar 27, 2007.

1. cgusta_1

My science GPA is 3.15, my non-science GPA is 3.72, and my cumulative GPA is 3.36. My DAT scores are 18 academic average, 20 biology, 19 chemistry, 18 organic chemistry, 19 reading comprehension, 15 quantitative reasoning :( , and 18 perceptual ability. I have a B.S. in Biological Sciences. I shadowed a dentist for four years, and I worked ad a dental assistant for five months. I also have worked for a year and a half in a forensics lab. I have been waitlisted at Tufts this year. I did apply late (as in september). I applied to LSU in 2005 (when I graduated). Katrina got in the way the next year. I reapplied this year using aadsas and got straight up rejected from NOVA, Arizona, LSU, Alabama, and possibly Creighton. I have already taken the DAT three times. So what do y'all think: Reapply or give up and move on.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. rsalasv

rsalasv Memberd

Dental Student
    I say just buckle down and really study for the DATs. It's all about taking lots and lots of practice tests. your gpa is fine, your extracurrculars are fine, there should be absolutely no problem if you just really study hard for those DATs. Personally, it's about getting the job that you want, right? Whatever your decision, good luck :)

4. darksky

Pre-Dental
    move on and definitely reapply.

5. UnderRep

UnderRep Traveling the US

Dental Student
    The only way I would say not to reapply is if you were 65 years old and looking to retire.
    otherwise you will always have a shot.

Call up some of the schools that you got rejected from and find out why.