Reapplying. Did my numbers improve enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lmcarroll20

Murphstain
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a Texas resident that applied a little late in the cycle last year (closer to the end of the summer).

Last year I applied with these numbers:
mcat: 30Q
GPA: 3.55
BCPM: 3.44

This year I will apply with these:
GPA: 3.69
BCPM: 3.58

Have I substantially increased my chances, given I apply
as early as possible?

Members don't see this ad.

Is your application qualitatively better?

So I'm a Texas resident that applied a little late in the cycle last year (closer to the end of the summer).

Last year I applied with these numbers:
GPA: 3.55
BCPM: 3.44

This year I will apply with these:
GPA: 3.69
BCPM: 3.58

Have I substantially increased my chances, given I apply
as early as possible?

I have had several leadership positions in college, I belong
to a service organization through which I have had a substantial amount of community service. During my year off I have been accepted to a program called community health corps and might be teaching part time for Princeton review, ochem. I've also had an average amount of shadowing and volunteering.

Members don't see this ad :)
Have you reworked your PS and made sure your LORs were good or gotten new ones?

Your numbers look good for this time around. Just make sure that you also have some good ECs, volunteering, and some clinical experience too. While your stats are very important, adcoms really look for well rounded applicants too. Best of luck to you for the next cycle.

You accomplished a very nice degree of GPA improvement. Well done.