Reapplying to med school, MCAT retake, PA school considerations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fancy Dr Narwhal

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first post and I honestly am in serious need of some advice. I'm a nontraditional student who hasn't been able to matriculate into med school because of below 500 scores the previous 3 times. I even applied to an SMP to avoid the MCAT but sadly, this semester isn't going well and I am afraid my SMP GPA will tank my uGPA of 3.8

What should I do now? Will med schools even look at me with a downward trend since it's an SMP and not undergrad courses? Will I have a shot if I knock MCAT out of the waters my 4th attempt? I am also looking into PA schools now but have no PCE, so I will be needing a job that has that. Should I just give up on being a doctor and do PA? Not that it's any easier, but PAs don't have to worry about the Match or residency. Since I am older and am a bad standardized test taker, would I be saving myself some time and stress if I just did PA? Being a doctor has been a life long dream of mine and for the first time... I am looking into other fields just in case and I feel like the reason is bc I am scared of potentially getting into med school but not doing well on the constant boards, thus ending up in my 40s by then if I'm lucky. Any advice would help a bro out. Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

What are your cGPA and sGPA ? What were your MCAT scores ? What are your ECs including shadowing hours and clinical volunteering with patient contact ? Where is your state of residence ? How many times have you applied ? Any interviews ?

Reactions: 1 user

Why don’t you will in this grid and give us a clearer picture of where you really are in the preparedness and process.

Members don't see this ad :)