Recent grad starting now. I really need advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cactus Wren

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody, I'm a recent college graduate who has recently become serious about a career in medicine, and I really need your advice.

My sGPA is 3.49 and my cGPA is 3.60 from a pretty competitive college. I have not taken the MCATs yet, although I plan on taking them this year in May (just before it all changes, yikes!). I am taking a year or two off to strengthen my application, but I definitely need direction in this.

So far, my ECs seems very weak compared to the other impressive lists I've seen:
-24 hours of shadowing an oncologist
-1 summer of doing cancer research
-1 summer volunteering for a non-profit cancer foundation (leadership role)
-2 years as a chemistry Teaching Assistant

I'm planning on taking on a research job to get more experience with biomedical research, take the MCATs in May, and from May until I apply, use all my free time to shadow/volunteer.

Is this a good idea? Will waiting two years be worth it for any advantage it will give me? Overall, how important are ECs in admission? Should I be focusing on something other than a research job, or should I focus on studying now? Please give me any advice you can. I'm really reeling here.

Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

For many MD schools, your GPA is unfortunately, below average. I would rock the MCAT to give yourself a more competitive position. Your in-state schools may be more willing to accept your GPA.

If you're applying the DO route, research is not very important. However, it is a good idea to shadow a DO. Shadowing and volunteering are great ideas for either MD/DO. EC's are very important, because they show your humanity, commitment to service, and exposure to healthcare environments.