Recent graduate with a ~3.3 gpa ... Should I do a Post-Bac/SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YoungLee

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a recent grad from UCSD with a double major in Biochem and management science ... The past year I took the MCAT and took some classes at UCLA extension, but have decided to switch to Pre-Dent. My ogpa is 3.3 and i have an upper div gpa of 3.226 for biochem.

I am going to start studying for the DAT soon and hope to land a research assistant position as well. I have worked at my uncle's dental clinic before for a summer but that was over 4 years ago. I have ER volunteer experience, and over 100 hours of non health volunteering through a comm service org. My other EC's deal with leadership in campus clubs/fraternities.

I really want to stay in California but I do realize my GPA is on the low side. Should I just do really well on the DAT and hope for the best? or do I take more classes and raise my GPA before applying?

Members don't see this ad.

You're right around the average accepted GPAs for Western, and you're in California, so thats a plus. I think you could give it a shot and see how you fare, but obviously killing the DAT is a must.

Hi, I'm a recent grad from UCSD with a double major in Biochem and management science ... The past year I took the MCAT and took some classes at UCLA extension, but have decided to switch to Pre-Dent. My ogpa is 3.3 and i have an upper div gpa of 3.226 for biochem.

I am going to start studying for the DAT soon and hope to land a research assistant position as well. I have worked at my uncle's dental clinic before for a summer but that was over 4 years ago. I have ER volunteer experience, and over 100 hours of non health volunteering through a comm service org. My other EC's deal with leadership in campus clubs/fraternities.