Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Redeeming myself from poor undergrad. grades...

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by Pharmwannab, Nov 15, 2005.

1. Pharmwannab

Pharmwannab Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    Hello,

I'm basically writing to see if anyone has managed to get into pharmacy school being in a situation like mine. I have my undergraduate degree from Berkeley in genetics but my GPA was pretty poor (2.5) due to a variety of factors - didn't really care about school at the time, didn't know what I wanted to with my life, several difficult engineering courses, etc. Worked for two years, then I got back into school at a Cal State university, determined to make it into pharmacy school. I now know that it's the career for me after having done extensive research, but I'm not sure if I can make it. I've been retaking the science pre-reqs for pharm. school since January and so far have a post-bac GPA of 4.0. I'm currently taking o chem, physics, biochem, and animal biology this quarter and still expecting a 4.0. Let's just assume I can keep up at this rate. I'm planning on applying next year in June. I'll also have nearly 100 hours of volunteering in a hospital and about 7 months of pharmacy experience working as a tech by then (I'm a licensed tech starting a job soon), in addition to helping found and run the student run pre-health association on campus and volunteering on the student health activist committee. I figure I'll have to have all these extracurriculars in order to offset my Berkeley GPA. Has anyone been in a similiar situation and gotten in or know of anyone in a similiar situation who's gotten in? When I've talked to my advisor at school, he's a bit evasive and didn't really have any a