Reducing nervousness and filler words during SP encounters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefulDOcter4321

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, just wanted to know how you combat nervousness and filler words during SP encounters. I know many people say that you should just practice as much as possible but my school only has around 2-3 opportunities with SPs per semester. Personally, my go to filler word is "um" or "ugh". I'm still a 1st year student and have only had 2 encounters so far. But I want to begin early on as this could negatively impact rotations and Step CS if it becomes a bad habit. Additionally, do you have any advice for the note typing part? I'm not the fastest of typers and I've found I cannot finish parts of the note due to time constraints. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I struggled with this as well, am quite shy and have a soft voice so I don't appear as confident as I could! I think it honestly hurt me third year so if you can find a way to combat this now you will have a much easier time during rotations!

Tips:

-Record yourself at home - this will be quite hard to watch but helps A LOT in recognizing what you are doing well and what you need improvement on
-Instead of using filler words - just pause, seems awkward in your head but isn't. Using filler words comes across a lot worse
-During your A/P do not pose you plan as a question - many people do this and it comes across as not confident
-Set up a meeting with an "expert educator" - most schools have docs who can help students like us practice presentations - the sessions are so helpful! They can help you organize your presentations/critique you
-If you have time, join a toastmasters club- I didn't do this but heard from friends they are helpful

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Three tips:

1.) It takes time, you will get better at encounters in general