Registering with a Master's in Clinical Psych and a PhD in Experimental Psych?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

baba ganoush

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a Master's in Clinical Psychology. This year I am applying to PhD programs. Although I would prefer to get a PhD in Clinical Psychology, I was considering as Plan B, a PhD in Experimental Psychology.

However, does anyone know how this would impact me when I graduate and register?
I know one psychologist who has a Master's in Clinical Psychology but a doctorate in Education, yet he practices as a clinical psychologist. He graduated probably 30+ years ago...so I'm not sure how it works now.

I want to ensure that I can practice as a Clinical psychologist. This would be in Canada. If I got a doctorate in Experimental Psych, it looks like I could register in provinces (e.g., Ontario) at the doctoral level because I would have taken the additional courses needed...?

Members don't see this ad.

It's likely going to vary from province to province (as it does from state to state, to some degree, in the US), but in general I believe you'd actually need to finish some type of re-certification program. I can't speak for Canada, so this may be completely erroneous, but most US states require a doctoral degree in clinical, counseling, or school psychology in order to be licensed as a psychologist; a master's in clinical psychology is in many ways "useless" down here, at least in a licensing perspective.

I'm from Ontario too, so I think I can help. If you're able to find an appropriate supervised practice position after your Ph.D., you will be able to register. Your declared scope of practice would likely need to be narrow unless you acquired an extremely broad supervised practice experience (because you won't have the breadth of experience that people with PhDs in clinical psych would have).