Rehashing the community college debate...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kevinm

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this has been discussed ad nauseam on these forums, but I have a couple side questions that do not seem to have been addressed.

It's pretty clear from previous discussions that community colleges have a stigma attached to them...whether it's deserved is neither here nor there. My particular issue is that I'm far from the traditional pre-med... I'm majoring in electrical engineering and biomedical engineering. I have credit for chem 1 and 2- I took a chemistry class for engineers that was two semesters of gen chem in one.. however, I still need to take general chemistry 2 to satisfy the "year of general chemistry" requirement. Then comes the biology requirement... sadly to say, gen biology 1 at my university is a complete and utter joke. The community college nearby offers a much more rigorous program. Finally, organic chemistry. My plan was to take organic chemistry 1 & 2 over the summer (6 weeks for each).

So I'm left with three choices:
A. Take all four courses at the community college for a reasonable price
B. Take general biology 1 and general chemistry 2 at the community college (for a reasonable price) and organic chemistry at my college (for an egregious price)
C. Take all the courses at my college at the expense of delaying medical school by a year (A CPA would have to run the numbers, but deferring by a year costs a lot)

It's just that my particular major and my particular academic interests have precluded me from taking these classes (schedule conflicts and the like).