Reject and Resubmit Decision?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cara susanna

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

A manuscript on which I'm an author has been listed with a status of "Reject and resubmit." I've been googling that term and what it means seems to vary from field to field. Has anyone else encountered this in psych? It's a British journal so I'm wondering if it's a different way of saying "revise and resubmit" or more rejection-y than that. FWIW, the decision status has a deadline for resubmission and the first author told me that the suggested revisions are pretty minimal. It sounded like a "revise and resubmit" to me, but the "rejection" part is throwing me off.

Also, would it go back to the reviewers then or would the editor just decide after it's resubmitted? Or does it vary from situation to situation?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Given the context, I imagine it just means revise and resubmit. Technically, a request for revisions is a rejection. Whether or not something gets sent out to reviewers again usually depends on the nature of the revisions, the journal, who the editor is, what the mood of the editor is on that day, etc.

Given the context, I imagine it just means revise and resubmit. Technically, a request for revisions is a rejection. Whether or not something gets sent out to reviewers again usually depends on the nature of the revisions, the journal, who the editor is, what the mood of the editor is on that day, etc.
+1

I have never heard that combination of terms, but it sure sounds like a revise/resubmit to me.

Regarding the editors/reviewers, that varies by journal. I've had editors just approve revisions, but I have also had them send it back out to reviewers for another round of comments (or even add another reviewer in one case).

Members don't see this ad :)