rejected 2 cycles, trying to figure out why, any advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meiling

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone

I've applied to 20+ medical schools for the 2 cycles with no luck (only 2 interviews)

I think I have strong stats... couldn't figure out why I was not even getting interview invites

I am reapplying one last time this cycle, since my MCAT score is expiring and I don't want to waste more money on applying... I hope some of you with more experience may point me to how I should improve my application.

I have a MCAT score of 34 and GPA 3.96 (science GPA 4.00)

I graduated a year ago with a summa honors thesis, is currently a research technician at a general hospital. Research wise I have 2 years of undergraduate research, 2 separate summer research internships, and this past year of research working as a tech.

Clinical experience wise I took half a year off of school to work full time as a physician's assistant at a family clinic. I've shadowed 2 doctors intermittently, 1 in a clinic setting, 1 in a hospital going on rounds. I'm a EMT and volunteered on my school's squad for all 3 years while I was in college. Also volunteered at ERs.

I have 5 LOCs (2 science prof, 1 humanities prof, 1 research, 1 clinical), and I know they are strong because when I interviewed my interviewer specifically complimented my letters.

I've considered if it could be my PS or secondaries that's throwing me off. But I have lots of people read them, and even if they are not the best I don't believe they are the reason I'm not getting any II.

Any advice on what I should change on this next cycle? or just general advice for re-applying???

Thanks everyone!

*** I am Canadian, which (despite how much I don't want to think so), may be a significant reason why I'm having such trouble.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Apply early and apply broadly.

Hi Everyone