Rejected from all dental schools... Post-bac or Masters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentdent123

Reaction score
Overall GPA 3.34
sGPA: 3.25
DAT: 18AA
I am a Texas resident who was rejected from all in-state and out-of-state schools I applied to. I am torn between a post-bac program or 1-yr masters. I want to stay in school but need helping deciding what is next. Any advice on which route is "better"?

Members don't see this ad.

Which schools did you apply to?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Damn I'm sorry homie. You might wanna consider retaking the DAT, the average for acceptance is 20.5+ now. GPA and DAT both below average, but DAT is quicker to bring up than GPA.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I think your DAT is more of an issue than your GPAs, so I'd first retake that and shoot for a 21+ to be relatively competitive. Since you want to stay in school, you could do an informal post-bacc (or a formal one, it'd just be more expensive), where you basically just take classes at a 4yr university (upper div classes like immuno, serology, med bac, etc).

Reactions: 2 users
I did a 1-year masters with a direct linkage. I had similar GPA stats, but a higher DAT. Once in the program, old GPA and DAT didn’t matter as long as you hit the minimum GPA for acceptance. It was the best option for me and I recommend that route to anyone in a similar position. The program I was in was extremely challenging, but prepared me well for dental school.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: 1 users
Overall GPA 3.34
I am a Texas resident who was rejected from all in-state and out-of-state schools I applied to. I am torn between a post-bac program or 1-yr masters. I want to stay in school but need helping deciding what is next. Any advice on which route is "better"?