patelnb

10+ Year Member
Oct 7, 2007
Status
Pre-Medical
I got put on the alternate list from Cincinnati medical school. My stats were WAY above their average. I have a 3.97 GPA and 35O MCAT. Theirs is like a 3.6 and a 30.8 average. My EC's are pretty good (a little low on volunteering, but I don't think that hurt my chances when I take into consideration that I've gotten 5 interviews already). I feel that my MMI went kind of poorly, but I'm not sure because a lot of people said they thought they did poorly but they still got in.

I'm trying to figure out what I did wrong. I'm nervous now that I'm doing something wrong in my interviews and I might get rejected from everywhere else. To be honest, I felt confident (because of my high stats, I'm not meaning to brag, I'm just being honeset) that I would get into Cinci medical school. This is a shock to me though.

I'm an Indiana resident, interviewed at IU 10/6. What do you think my chances at IU are?

Thanks a lot

canjosh

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 18, 2004
Houston
Status
Medical Student
First of all, you're waitlisted. That's not the same as rejection. Don't panic. Maybe you just rubbed an interviewer the wrong way. Also remember that once you get the interview, it's usually less about your stats and more about your interview. It could also be an LOR issue, since these aren't necessarily read before extending an interview invitation. As long as you didn't mess up the interview at IU, I'd imagine your chances in your state school are pretty good...but I'm definitely no expert on IU or any of the schools in that area of the country. Good luck.

wanderer

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 14, 2008
Status
Medical Student
There are just so many factors that go into admissions at each particular school that it makes it difficult to predict how any one school would look at a particular applicant. Also it's possible that your MMI just didn't go as well as that of others. Also, numbers aren't everything.

OP
P