rejected pre-secondary vcu

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wannabmed

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just received a very upsetting email from VCU that told me the following ...
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Application Status

The committee's initial screening resulted in a decision not to pursue your file any further. The Committee does not send supplemental applications unless they are confident that the candidate will be competitive within our large applicant pool. Our committee does NOT offer reasons for this action but does suggest that a discussion with your pre-med advisor might be worthwhile.

We wish you the very best with the other schools you have selected.
From the sounds of it I can't really inquire about their decision, however it is really frustrating because I am a VA resident who is retaking the August MCAT (who really wanted to go to VCU). Do you think there is any chance that they will let me fill out the secondary in October if I do better on my MCAT retake?

Members don't see this ad.

sorry to hear that ... stay positive though - we're all going to be facing rejections sooner or later. as to whether an improved mcat will change things, it doesn't sound like it, but that is my uninformed opinion. keep your head up.

I don't know about VCU, but some schools will re-review your file if you request it. Maybe you could send in a request after you get your MCAT scores?

Members don't see this ad :)
VCU is one of those schools that looks beyond numbers (from what I understand). Perhaps there are other parts of your application that are not quite as good as they could be?