Relatively high stats, 0 interviews. Do I need to add DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jaigantic

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I applied to ~28 MD schools, have received 2 rejections and silence from all the rest. My LizzyM is ~75 with a 3.97 GPA and 516 MCAT. From what I could tell from others on SDN, people with similar stats already have 4-6 IIs. I know LizzyM's rule of thumb is if you don't have an II by Thanksgiving then one could start to be worried but does the fact that I have relatively high stats with no IIs be some cause for concern, even at this point?

It's also worth mentioning that I am an international student so that may have some role in my situation. Is this likely or is it possible that there is some sort of red flag in my app?

My guess is that it's the international student thing. With this in my mind, should I consider adding some DO schools to my list or is it too late for even DO?

I will also include my school list, which I know is top heavy but this was out of necessity since it is mainly top tiers that even consider international students. Please let me know what you guys think. Thanks!

Boston University
Rosalind Franklin
Columbia
Cornell
Dartmouth
Duke
Emory
Feinberg
Harvard
Icahn
Jefferson
Johns Hopkins
Medical College of Wisconsin
NYMC
Penn State
Perelman
Stanford
Stony Brook
Tulane (rejected)
UCLA
University of Chicago
UIC
University of Pittsburgh (rejected)

Washington University in St. Louis
Vanderbilt
Yale

Members don't see this ad.

It's also worth mentioning that I am an international student

Yes, that's significant. You're also at a disadvantage that you don't have any instate schools.

Which DO schools are known to accept a good number of int'l students? Any?

Members don't see this ad :)
Less than 300 internationals matriculate in an average year.
Some of the schools on your list matriculate very few internationals (e.g. Geffen).