Relevance of research experience to interest

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phillips101

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that "match" is very important in grad school admissions, but I'm having a hard time understanding to what extent your experience matters. I have extensive research experience and all, but that research experience is in the field of addiction, while I am truly interested in schizophrenia/psychosis. As an undergrad, and even a post-bac, it is extremely difficult (in other words- impossible) for me to get close to this population, and since I work full-time as an RA elsewhere, it's not feasible for me to get up, quit my job, and volunteer at a schizophrenia-type lab.

So is it enough to say that I'm interested in XYZ, without any prior experience? Or do you have to somehow "prove" your interest by gaining experience in it?
Note: I'm not talking about research experience, I mean experience working in that particular field.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

It will vary by POI - some will want you to have experience. There was a schizophrenia researcher in my grad program who would only interview people who had experience with the population (either through research or some kind of clinical exposure). What is your justification for your interest? I think if you can intelligently articulate your interest and how the research experience you have gained will aid you in pursuing that line of research in grad school, you'll probably be ok for many POIs.